Home Red Bull

Red Bull

Red Bull

The Red Bull Formula One team is based in Milton Keynes. The team have won 4 F1 world titles with Sebastian Vettel from 2010-2013.

Having bought Jaguar Racing from Ford, Dietrich Mateschitz — the energy drink billionaire — launched his Formula 1 team in 2005. F1 wasn’t new territory for Red Bull, as it previously sponsored various Formula 1 drivers.

The team were formed by hiring two men to lead the project: Christian Horner to lead the team, and Adrian Newey as designer. The latter had previous success with several championship winning teams.

The teams legacy began after five years of foundation. Sebastian Vettel won both drivers and constructors’ title in 2010, and would go on to repeat the feat for the next three years.

Following the unstoppable performance of Red Bull Racing in the Formula One world championship, new engine regulations were formed 2014 onwards. The new regulations brought Red Bull’s dominance to an end, as Mercedes took the honors by winning constructors titles in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

As Red Bull fell to second in the championship with the new regulations, Sebastian Vettel departed from the team to join Ferrari. A successful rookie year meant Daniil Kvyat was promoted up to the big team.

The next year in the sport saw a further fall in form, as the team struggled both aerodynamic and engine front. The team fell behind Ferrari and Williams.

The 2016 F1 season saw an upturn in form for Red Bull Racing. The F1 team beat Ferrari and Williams to second place in the constructors, and won two races: the Spanish GP and the Malaysian GP.

There was drama also for the team in 2016. Daniil Kvyat’s high-profile accident with former Red Bull driver Vettel saw him get axed, as Max Verstappen replaced the Russian. Kvyat moved down to Toro Rosso.

The new 2017 regulations brought excitement at Red Bull; many backed the team to beat Mercedes with Adrian Newey onboard. However, the 2017 F1 season didn’t start out as the team had planned, and trailed Mercedes by 79 points after four races.

Quick Info on Red Bull:

Team owner: Dietrich Mateschitz
Team principal: Christian Horner
Advisor: Helmut Marko
Chief technical officer: Adrian Newey
Head of aerodynamics: Dan Fallows
Chief engineering officer: Rob Marshall